Home Skip to main content

Lifetime Achievement Award
2022 Recipient

Rep. Robin Weisz

Robin Weisz will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for his vision and efforts to promote the need for significant transportation investment beyond federal funding. His efforts were responsible, at least in part, for the historic funding investments made by the ND Legislature in the 2011 and subsequent sessions.

Weisz, a fourth-generation farmer from Hurdsfield, has owned and managed a grain elevator for 15 years. Serving in the ND House of Representatives since 1996, he is chair of the Human Services Committee and is a member of the Rules Committee and the Transportation Committee. Weisz served as chair of the Transportation Committee from 2001 to 2007. He was named Township Legislator of the Year twice by the North Dakota Township Officers Association and was named EMS Legislator of the Year twice by the North Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association. Weisz received a fellowship to the Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development in 1999 and a Henry Toll Fellowship from the Council of State Governments in 2006. He has served as a township supervisor for many years and is currently chair of the Lynn Township Board. Weisz is also past chair of the Multistate Highway Agreement Organization, which encourages coordination among states regarding the allowable size of vehicles and vehicle loads on highways.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has had a distinguished career in a transportation-related field. The award is based on long-term professional excellence in the field of transportation and nominees are recognized for their example in upholding professional standards, mentoring other professionals or contributing to day-to-day excellence in their chosen field within transportation.

NDSU Dept 2880P.O. Box 6050Fargo, ND 58108-6050