Home Skip to main content

John M. Agrey Award
2022 Recipient

Terry Traynor

Terry Traynor will receive the Agrey Award in recognition of his tireless and long-term leadership in promoting funding needs for North Dakota's political subdivisions. Advocacy for road and bridge infrastructure funding and policy improvement was a consistent priority during Traynor's 30-plus years with the North Dakota Association of Counties. While focusing primarily on county infrastructure, he was dedicated to improving the entire state and local highway system. Traynor worked closely with NDDOT, legislative and industry partners in the reformulation of the State Highway Distribution Fund, the development of the "Prairie Dog" funding mechanism, as well as the improvement of right-of-way and procurement policies. Traynor's interest in these issues led him to becoming the county representative on the UGPTI Advisory Council in 2018 and is the council's immediate past chair.

Traynor retired as executive director of the North Dakota Association of Counties earlier this year, having served in that capacity since 2018. As executive director, he led 22 staff members dedicated to assisting counties and county officials in the areas of legislative advocacy, member programs, communications, and professional development. Prior to serving as executive director, Traynor served in various roles at NDACo for more than 30 years. Before joining NDACo, Traynor served as an engineering assistant to the Morton County Engineer and was a senior partner in a western North Dakota consulting firm. He is a 1977 graduate of the University of North Dakota with a B.S. degree in geology.

The Agrey Award is UGPTI's highest award and recognizes and honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the state of North Dakota, its citizens and its business community through involvement in transportation.

NDSU Dept 2880P.O. Box 6050Fargo, ND 58108-6050