Home Skip to main content

John M. Agrey Award
2019 Recipient

Senator Rich Wardner

Rich Wardner will receive the John M. Agrey Award, the highest award presented by the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute. Wardner has served in the North Dakota Senate since 1999 representing district 37 in the Dickinson area. The award recognizes his visionary leadership and commitment to transportation. Most recently, he championed HB 1066 (Operation Prairie Dog) which provides a legacy of funding for political subdivisions in North Dakota appropriating certainty into the funding process for many years. Historically, Wardner was a key supporter of transportation funding efforts during the oil boom years. He has been Senate majority leader since 2013. He served in the N.D. House from 1991 to 1998. He was a member of the Finance and Tax, Government and Veterans Affairs and Senate Appropriations committees. During the current interim, he is serving as chair of the Energy Development and Transmission Committee.

Wardner is a retired educator and coach and formerly served as the executive director of the Dickinson Area Chamber of Commerce. He earned a bachelor's degree from Dickinson State University and a master's degree from Northern State University. Wardner and his wife, Kayleen, have two children and five grandchildren.

The Agrey Award recognizes and honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the state of North Dakota, its citizens and its business community through involvement in transportation. The award is named for John M. Agrey, a pioneer, innovator and advocate for transportation in North Dakota. In his nearly 40-year career with the North Dakota Public Service Commission, Agrey advocated for farmers with untiring dedication toward fair freight rates.

NDSU Dept 2880P.O. Box 6050Fargo, ND 58108-6050