Home Skip to main content

Transportation Students Receive Scholarships

Posted: Jun 30, 2011

The Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute (UGPTI) is pleased to announce that four $1500 scholarships and one $2000 scholarship have been awarded to outstanding NDSU juniors and seniors with an interest in transportation.

The $1500 Paul E. R. Abrahamson Transportation Scholarship is awarded to two students who demonstrate interest in the transportation and logistics of agricultural commodities and processed agricultural products. This year's recipients are Steven Firth and Jonathan Roswick. Firth and Roswick are both part of the College of Business.

The $1500 Transportation Engineering Scholarship is granted to students who have an interest in transportation and display academic excellence. Funding for the scholarships is provided by the Mountain-Plains Consortium through the University Transportation Centers Program of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Recipients of this year's award are Jared Loegering and Kathryn Garceau who are both students in Civil Engineering.

The Charles E. Herman Scholarship is presented to a transportation student who demonstrates academic achievement with a preference to women and minorities at NDSU. Funding for one $2,000 scholarship is provided by the Charles E. Herman Scholarship Endowment Fund. This year's recipient is Kathryn Garceau.

Formal presentation of the awards will take place at the UGPTI awards banquet in the fall.

Published in NDSU's staff newsletter
It's Happening at State
June 30, 2011

NDSU Dept 2880P.O. Box 6050Fargo, ND 58108-6050