Home Skip to main content

Roundabout Open House

Oct. 23, 2008
Cass County Highway Department
1201 Main Ave West, West Fargo (just off I-94)

Drivers in Cass County may be encountering their first roundabouts, a form of intersection that improves traffic flow, fuel efficiency and safety. To introduce motorists, local officials, law enforcement personnel and local roads experts to this innovation, the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute and the Cass County Highway Department will host Roundabout 101 on Oct. 23 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Highway Department's building at 1201 Main Ave. West in West Fargo.

Speaker Resource
Mike Williams, Fargo City Commissioner
mjwilliams@cityoffargo.com
 
Bruce Jorgensen, Sgt, Cass County Sheriff Dept
jorgensenb@casscountynd.gov
 
Gene LaDoucer, AAA-North Dakota
eladoucer@aaand.com
 
Jeremy Gorden, Fargo City Traffic Engineer
jgorden@ci.fargo.nd.us
A City Traffic Engineer's Perspective (PDF, 162K)
Trudy Kordosky, MN DOT
trudy.kordosky@dot.state.mn.us
 
Tom Swenson, Minnesota District 4 Traffic Engineer
thomas.swenson@dot.state.mn.us
 
Matt Kinsella, Ulteig Engineers
matt.kinsella@ulteig.com
 
Rick Lane, SRF Consulting
rlane@srfconsulting.com
Rick Lane's Presentation (PDF, 7418K)
Shawn Birst, North Dakota State University
shawn.birst@ndsu.edu
 
Keith Berndt, Cass County Highway Engineer
berndtk@casscountynd.gov
 

Roundabout Video

The following video shows the difference in traffic flow between typical intersection with stoplight traffic control and a roundabout intersection. Thank you to the North Dakota Highway Patrol for providing the video.

Related Resources

Note: links open in a new window

NDSU Dept 2880P.O. Box 6050Fargo, ND 58108-6050
(701)231-8058rtssc@ugpti.org