Picture of Truck TRB Committee on Truck and Bus Safety (ANB70) Skip Navigation Picture of Bus

2006 Meeting Agenda

Date: Monday, Jan. 23, 2006
Time: 1:30 - 5:30 pm
Location: Cotillion Foyer, Marriott


Introductions - Members & Friends
Announcements of remaining T&B safety-related TRB meeting events
Conference/event announcements:
  • TRB Task Force on Surface Transportation Weather (Monday Evening Marriott Wilson B & C, Wilf Nixon, (wilfrid-nixon@uiowa.edu)
  • Other?
Liaison and coordination with the Trucking Industry Task Force (AT060T) (15 minutes)
  • AT060T charter and status
  • Ensuring synergy with ANB70
Annual Meeting Paper Reviews Recap
Committee Website
  • Carrier Self Evaluation (Gene Bergoffen, Chair)
  • CMV Driver Training (Mark Johnson in absentia, Ron Knipling)
  • Other subcommittees?
Commercial Truck & Bus Safety Synthesis Program (CTBSSP) Update (Chris Jenks)
Break (20 minutes)
ANB70 Circular (20 minutes):
  • Review of status
  • Distribution of draft copies
  • Action items and schedule for publication
Presentations (15 minutes each):
  1. Heavy Vehicle Compliance - an Innovative Approach (Barry Moore, Australia National Transport Commission)
  2. Commercial Driver Fatigue - Review of Regulatory Approach in Australia (Barry Moore, Australia National Transport Commission)
  3. North American Cargo Securement Initiative and Professional Driver Training Apprenticeship Program (Roger Clarke, Alberta Transportation)
  4. Three GAO Studies of FMCSA Programs (Kate Siggerud, GAO)
  5. New Commercial Driver License (CDL) Test (John Brock, Anteon)
  6. Behavior Change with On-Board Safety Monitoring and Feedback. Tsippy Lotan, OR YAROK
  7. Discussion: On-Board Safety Monitoring: technologies and management practices (George Reagle) (20 minutes)
  8. [If time is available] Discussion: More on the future of T&B safety research.
Some Truck & Bus Safety Sessions, 2006 TRB Annual Meeting
Workshop 125
Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006, 8:30-12:30 pm, Marriott
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Safety and Security Accomplishments
Sponsored by:
Truck and Bus Safety Committee (ANB70)
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Committee (FMCSA)
Note: Review and discussion of FMCSA research, technology, and information
Session 261
Monday, Jan. 23, 2006, 10:15-Noon, Marriott
Future of Truck and Bus Safety Research: Highlights from Three 2005 Conferences
Rebecca Brewster, American Transportation Research Institute, Presiding
This panel discussion features principals and participants from three major conferences on truck and bus safety held during 2005:
  • Conference on Future Truck and Bus Safety Research Opportunities
  • Fatigue Management in Transportation Operations International Conference
  • 2005 International Truck and Bus Safety and Security Symposium.
Panel Discussion:
  • Stephen F. Campbell, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
  • Roger D. Clarke, Alberta Transportation, Canada
  • E. Lee Husting, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
  • Ronald R. Knipling, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute
  • Martin Walker, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
Committee Meeting
Monday, Jan. 23, 2006, 1:30-5:30 PM, Marriott
Committee on Truck and Bus Safety (ANB70)
Ronald R. Knipling, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, presiding
Session 379
Monday, Jan. 23, 2006, 7:30-9:30 pm, Marriott
Truck and Bus Safety Research
Joel L. Ticatch, PB Farradyne Inc., Presiding
  • Synthesis of Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Technology Surveys: What Have We Learned? (06-2846). Virginia Robinson Dick, American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI); Daniel C. Murray, ATRI; Amy Houser, FMCSA
  • Development and Implementation of Driver Safety History Indicator into Roadside Inspection Selection System (06-2598). Brenda Lantz, North Dakota State University; Jeff Loftus, FMCSA
  • Predicting Truck Crash Involvement: Developing a Commercial Driver Behavior Model and Requisite Enforcement Countermeasures (06-2850). Daniel C. Murray, ATRI
  • Impact of Wind Forces on Heavy Truck Rollover (06-1232) Eric Hildebrand, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Committee Meeting
Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2006, 8:00-Noon, Shoreham
Trucking Industry Research Task Force: Full Task Force (AT060T)
Michael H. Belzer, Wayne State University, presiding
C. Randal Mullett, CNF, Inc., presiding
Poster Session 437
Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2006, 9:30-Noon, Marriott
Law Enforcement, Automated Enforcement, and Truck Safety
Glenn A. Hansen, Howard County Police Department, presiding
Sponsored by: Traffic Law Enforcement Committee (ANB40)
Trucking Industry Research Task Force (AT060T)
  • Safety Impacts of Differential and Uniform Car-Truck Speed Limits on Illinois and North Carolina Interstates (06-2837). Raghavan Srinivasan, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • New Hours-of-Service Rules: Trucking Industry Reactions and Safety Outcomes (06-2131). Virginia Robinson Dick, ATRI; James Hendrix, Hendrix Consulting; Ronald R. Knipling, VTTI.
Transportation Research Board Transportation Research Board
Committee on Truck and Bus Safety (ANB70)

Required Plug-ins