

AGENDA

TRB ACS60: Truck and Bus Safety Committee

2024 Annual Committee Meeting

Wednesday January 10, 2024 8:00 AM – 12:00 PM Marriott Marquis Salon 10 (M2)

- 1. Welcome and Introductions: All
- 2. TRB Staff (upon arrival)
- 3. Paper Review Summary and Discussion (Mouyid Islam)
- 4. 2022 Deborah Freund Paper Award Brenda Lantz, Jerry Krueger, Scott Valentine
 - Xueson Wang, Yang Zhou, and Salvatore Damiano Cafiso
 TRBAM-23-04234: Autonomous Emergency Braking System for Trucks for Longitudinal Two-wheeler Collision Avoidance
- 5. Update on Committee: Bob Scopatz
- 6. Subcommittee Reports:
 - i. Carrier Safety Management: Olivia Dobson (Sharon Newnam's)
 - ii. Operator Health and Wellness: Pierre Thiffault/designee
 - iii. Data: Andrew Miller
 - iv. Technology: Abby Morgan
- 7. Research Coordination/Needs Statements: Nicholas Kehoe





8. Liaison Lightning Round (new feature, top 3 topics for each—summaries available for interested parties)

i. FMCSA: Robert Kreebii. NHTSA: Alrik Svensoniii. NTSB: Rob Molloyiv. CVSA: Jake Elovirta

v. NIOSH: Karl Sieber & David Fosbroke

vi. Teamsters: Enjoli DeGrasse

vii. ATA: Paul Ruiz

viii. OOIDA: Tom Weakley ix. ABA: Brandon Buchanan

- 9. Hot Topics (½ hour each including discussion)
 - Pavle Bujanovic (FHWA) and Osama A. Osman (Leidos, Inc.)
 Cooperative Driving Automation: Facilitating Interaction of Emergency Vehicles with Heavy Trucks
 - Alexander Epstein and Peter Goldwasser
 Working with Fleets on a Safe System Approach for Addressing Large Vehicle Blind
 Zones
- 10. Round Robin (all)
- 11. Additional Business and Announcements
- 12. Adjourn