# TRB Committee on Truck & Bus Safety (ANB70) Annual Meeting January 25, 2011 Marriot, Harding 1:30 pm – 5:30 pm

#### Members in Attendance:

**Others in Attendance:** 

**David Rayburn** 

Joel Ticatch, Chair **Richard Pain, TRB Staff Liaison** Jeff Hickman **Rebecca Brewster Michael Belzer Karl Sieber Gerald Krueger Ron Knipling** Lori Mooren **Jeffrey Burns Brenda Lantz Steve Keppler Norm Littler Barbara Czech Tom Weakley Andrea Sequin Pierre Thiffault Anne McCartt Dave Melton Deborah Freund George Soodoo Bob Scopatz Martin Walker David Goettee Rebecca Olson Dan Blower** 

**Tom Barth Steve Vaughn David Kraft Bill Knee Tom Walsh Stephanie Pratt Chris Flanigan** Imran Inamdar **Keara Sauber** Mike Kutsak **Brvan Breslov Mike Mollenhauer Mike Jovce Rob Discristoforo Tom Yager Ed Watt Julie Perrot Elisa Braver Charlie Vits** Shawn Allen **Rafael Marshall Jennifer Lincoln Robin Gillespie** 

**Greg Ferrara Olu Ajavi Daniel Filiatrault Deborah Bruce Jana Price Betsy Benkowski Bill Bannister Allen Parrish Beau Elliott** Matt Camden Jeff Muttart **Bob Kreeb Greg Fitch** Norm Lindgren Geni Bahar **Cem Hatipoglu** Luke Brennen **Henry Jasny David Madsen Cvnthia Robinson Damon Tofte Robert Clarke** 

#### **OPENING DISCUSSION**

At 1:30 pm, Joel Ticatch called the meeting to order, welcomed members and guests, and opened the floor for self-introductions. A sign in sheet and copies of committee sponsored events for the annual meeting were passed around to members and others in attendance.

#### **2010 PAPER SUBMISSIONS**

Joel discussed important points to consider when writing papers for submission at TRB:

- Topics should make contributions to research
- Papers must be well organized, well written, and well edited
- Authors should be thorough in literature reviews
- Authors must use statistics appropriately

Some best papers will be presented at the Truck and Bus Safety Research poster session Wednesday morning from 9:30am to 12:00pm. A small number will be published in the journal later this year. Some reviewers still need to go back and re-review (final review) some papers. This will need to be done by February 4<sup>th</sup>.

Ron Knipling suggested that an award for best paper be nominated. Members interested in being a part of this procedure should contact Ron directly.

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

The Young Members category is now defined as those 35 years of age or under at time of appointment. Currently there are two young member positions available. Please let Rebecca Brewster know of any potentially interested individuals for these positions.

### ANB70 COMMITTEE WEBSITE

The committee website is being constantly updated with new events, handouts, and other information that members may find useful. If anyone has any suggestions for modifications or improvements, please contact Brenda Lantz or Andy Schaudt. Also, stay tuned for a new ANB70 LinkedIn site coming soon. This will allow for easier posting of links and communication within the committee membership.

#### **FMCSA UPDATES**

The next point of order in the meeting was to hear from the two Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) committee members. The first to report was Martin Walker, who highlighted key projects recently completed (see the FMCSA Research Handout attached to these minutes [*FMCSA Handout\_January 2011.pdf*]).

The next FMCSA delegate to report was Deborah Freund from the Office of Policy. For further detailed information on policy issues, please visit <u>http://www.federalregister.gov</u> or <u>www.gpo.gov/fdsys</u> (or contact Deborah directly).

#### NHTSA REPORT

George Soodoo from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) provided a summary of proposed NHTSA rulemaking. For further details, see the NHTSA Handout attached to these minutes (*NHTSA Handout\_January 2011.pdf*).

#### NTSB ACTIVITIES

Barbara Czech, Deputy Director, Investigations, Office of Highway Safety, National Transportation Safety Board, gave an update on recent truck and bus accident investigations. For further details, see the NTSB Handout attached to these minutes (*NTSB Handout\_January 2011.pdf*).

### SUBCOMMITTEE/TASK FORCE REPORTS

Brief reports from a representative of each subcommittee were provided. For further information regarding these reports, contact the appropriate representative for the following subcommittees:

- Motorcoach Safety Organizational Subcommittee Norm Littler
- Truck and Bus Data Subcommittee Brenda Lantz
- Alternative Compliance Subcommittee Gene Bergoffen
  - This year's subcommittee meeting will contain updates on all related activities which include projects from Australia, USA-ATRI, Canadian PIC, and FMCSA. The most immediate goal of the subcommittee is to update the synthesis relating to ongoing programs. Assignments will be made for program monitoring and updates. (*Alternative Compliance Report\_January 2011.pdf*)
- Truck and Bus Operator Health and Wellness Subcommittee Gerald Krueger
  - This subcommittee met and covered many topics and presentations. Please see slides attached (*Health Wellness Report\_January 2011.pdf*)

# **RESEARCH NEEDS STATEMENTS**

The committee has various Research Needs Statements up on TRB's website. In addition, Roger Clarke has assigned a few new statements to members for review. According to TRB procedures, the committee will need to revalidate these statements every 3 years or they will be automatically removed.

# COMMITTEE COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR

Just as many other TRB committees have recently done, ANB70 has appointed a communications coordinator. The communications coordinator will be Rebecca Olson from the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute. In this role, she will continue to make changes and additions to our current website as needed, and investigate new avenues for committee communications and outreach.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

None.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

#### PRESENTATIONS

<u>Towards a Strategy to Address Human Errors in the Motor Carrier Industry in Canada</u> – Pierre Thiffault, Transport Canada (*Thiffault\_Human Error\_January 2011.pdf*)

<u>Heavy Vehicle Stability Control: NHTSA Policy Issues</u> – George Soodoo, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (*Soodoo\_HV Stability\_January 2011.pdf*)

<u>Update on the North America Fatigue Management Program</u> – Rebecca Brewster, American Transportation Research Institute

<u>Hours of Service: Notice of Proposed Rulemaking</u> – Thomas Yager, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

<u>Measuring Safety Culture in Large Truck Companies</u> – David Melton, Liberty Mutual Research Institute for Safety (*Melton\_Safety Attitudes\_January 2011.pdf*)

<u>TRB Synthesis Projects on Driver Selection and Risk Avoidance</u> – Ronald Knipling, Traffic Safety and Human Factors (*Knipling\_Synthesis Projects\_January 2011.pdf*)

Adjournment @ 5:30pm